10Trax: Ariana Grande will save us all

Football might not be coming home but new music Friday returns without fail.

2 months agoText by


So, it’s not coming home after all. England is out the world cup and with it goes The Lightning Seeds chances of bagging the number one this week. Ah well, there’s always 2022. This week might have seen football tragedy, but there’s been plenty of musical triumph including new Ariana Grande, Ibeyi and Childish Gambino.

Ariana Grande – ‘God Is A Woman’

It’s no ‘No Tears Left To Cry’ but it’s still pretty good. Give us Sweetener now!

Ibeyi – ‘Transmission’

Ibeyi come through with a video worthy of the beauty of ‘Transmission’. Lisa-Kainde and Naomi’s gift for weaving melodies and narratives together is unmatched.

Bexey – ‘Cutthroat Smile’

Bexey teams up with $uicideBoy$ for an almost grime flavoured take on his usual emo/goth rap. This the music equivalent of taking Skepta’s recent aesthetic to its logical conclusion.

Childish Gambino – ‘Summertime Magic’

Gambino makes a hard U-turn away from politi-trap of ‘This Is America’ on ‘Summertime Magic’ but still winds up with a banger, albeit a little more of a subdued one.

Brockhampton – ‘1999 Wildfire’

Brockhampton are here to remind everyone why they’re the world’s favourite boyband by channelling OutKast and being generally excellent on new single ‘1999 Wildfire’, and I won’t hear a word against it.

Juice WRLD – ‘Wasted ft. Lil Uzi Vert’

Trap music is actually really pretty now and I’m fully here for it, aware I’m the latest person on earth but Uzi is growing on me.

Baauer x AJ Tracey x Jae Stephens – ‘3AM’

This remarkably calm for a collaboration between AJ Tracey and Baauer, but the subtle groove and Jae Stephens vocal balance it nicely.

GAIKA – ‘Immigrant Sons (Pesos & Gas)’ 

We’re approximately one year from SOPHIE producing every song ever. Fresh from her work with Let’s Eat Grandma and her own album this week she partners with experimental dancehall genius GAIKA on his new single ‘Immigrant Sons (Pesos & Gas)’.

MØ, Diplo – ‘Sun In Our Eyes’

MØ and Diplo reunite once more for the lead single from the Danish singer’s just announced new album. This is a direct shot at the road- trip-movie-soundtrack-song-of-the-summer spot, and I think it might be a bullseye.

Easy Life – ‘OJPL’

Easy Life are just so good at what they do it’d be a crime not to include a track of their new double release in this week’s playlist. Here’s to it raining orange juice and pink lemonade.

Follow Mike Vinti on Twitter